The Museum is housed in the Harwich Town station buildings which opened just three years after the Great Eastern Railway in 1865. Over the past few months the buildings have undergone a massive transformation; it has been designed to show the GER station at Harwich town as it would have looked internally about 1924 which coincides with the opening on April 24th 1924 by Prince George Duke of Kent of the Harwich train ferry terminal.
The Museum is currently housed in the six rooms of the North Wing, the South Wing, with a lot more exciting exhibits, will be opened soon after.
The Museum, curated by Bob Clow from his own lifetime acquisitions, displays a unique collection, never before seen by the public.
+ Original uniforms
+ The largest collection of tickets from the Harwich branch in existence and includes a set of paper tickets from the very first train in August 1854
+ Original railway posters
+ Original pieces of furniture
Items are being added to the collection all of the time.
The Museum will be open every Saturday from 10am to 4pm. However, we remain the right to close, please view our twitter for updates on openings.
There are lots of exciting opportunities for volunteers to get involved with the Museum and the Heritage Centre as a whole.
Please see the Volunteering page for an application form or Contact Us for details.
Admission is on a donation basis, with a £1 minimum suggested donation. If you are a UK taxpayer, please help us further by completing a Gift Aid Declaration form.
Groups are very welcome, please book in advance with firstname.lastname@example.org